Great Reads for Teens and Tweens!

Helping you make an informed decision about that book

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

on March 27, 2012

Title: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone

Author: J.K. Rowling

Publisher: Scholastic Year: 1999

ISBN -13: 978-0590353427

Age: 9 and up

Genre: Fiction

Subjects / Themes: fantasy, family relationships, friendship, magic/wizard, school, British literature

Awards: National Book Award, the Smarties Prize, the Children’s Book Award, and is short-listed for the Carnegie Medal, the U.K. version of the Newbery Medal

Plot Summary:

Harry Potter is the most famous wizard to have ever lived but he doesn’t know that yet. He has spent the last ten years sleeping in a cupboard beneath the stairs and being raised by his dreadful aunt and uncle who are terrified to tell him who/what he is. But his world is about to change when Harry is accepted to Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. From his first encounter with a loveable giant, to a unique curriculum (potions? defense against the dark arts?) taught by interesting (to say the least) faculty, Harry Potter will discover his place among a mystical world he never knew existed.

My take:

I was never going to read Harry Potter. Nope, it wasn’t for me. I didn’t want to read about wizards and witches, flying broomsticks, potions or transfiguration classes. The book, which my mom bought for my sister sat on the shelf for months before one night, out of boredom I decided to read it. That night I didn’t sleep a wink and when I finally finished the book and fell asleep I had vivid dreams of being a witch and taking the Hogwarts Express while sharing chocolate frogs and pumpkin juice (ugh I hate pumpkin!) with Potter and Weasley (I’m pretty sure I was Hermione). This is really embarrassing but from that moment on I dressed up and attended every midnight release of the books starting with number four and every midnight movie release (advanced screening of the last one!).

Harry Potter will never get old. I was in high school when the movies first came out and college by the time the series was finished yet I found myself getting just as excited as the middle school kids who were reading them for the first time. J.K. Rowling is a magnificent writer, who truly takes her readers on a journey they would rarely get from a book. What I love most about the books is there a character for every type of personality … brainy book smart Hermione, Ron who lives in the shadows of older siblings, Harry unaware of the impact he has on the wizarding community already and of the role he is going to play in the future.

Rating: 5 chocolate frogs out of 5!

Similar Read: Midnight for Charlie Bone by Jenny Nimmo

2 responses to “Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

  1. erika says:

    I am a huge fan of harry potter! And like Christine I refused to read it when it came out…I was like what…I’m not reading that. But one day I was stuck at the airport for 4 hours and had nothing else to read so I gave in and bought it and got hooked instantly.

  2. […] Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling (myteenreads.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

