Great Reads for Teens and Tweens!

Helping you make an informed decision about that book

Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson

on May 15, 2012

Title: Speak

Author: Laurie Halse Anderson

Publisher: Square Fish           Year: 2011

ISBN-13: 978-0312674397

Genre: Fiction

Age: 12 and up

Awards: Printz Honor Book Award, a National Book Award nomination, Golden Kite award, the Edgar Allen Poe Award, and the Los Angeles Times Book Prize

Themes / Subjects: Young Adult, Outcast, High School, Relationships, Social Situations, Art

Plot Summary:

Check out my booktalk trailer I created with goanimate.com!

Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson

My Take:

It’s pretty obvious within the first couple of pages what happened at the party so right away the suspense that captured my attention from the back of the book is gone. The book has a long, drawn out story which is interesting, yet all of a sudden everything is A-Ok at the end. I don’t think so. If she really did experience that terrible thing from the party, I hardly doubt that just by speaking everything is going to be better. That might be the step to recovery but it most definitely does not make everything right.

What I did like about the book is how it is divided by school semesters and the report card so you can see how her grades are being affected. This book is easily relatable to any teenager who is or may have been a social outcast. The occurrences throughout the book could happen to anyone these days which further helps the reader’s mind perceive what is going on. I do think there is an important message to be taken away from this book which is why I would recommend it to teens.

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars … I didn’t hate or love the book which is why I stand in the middle

Similar read: Monster by Walter Dean Meyers

2 responses to “Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson

  1. You’d be surprised how many kids don’t know what happend and are surprised by the reveal. I know right?

    • mlischris says:

      I wonder if the reason the incident wasn’t a shock and revealed itself to me earlier in the book is because as an adult I kinda went into the book with that in my head. I don’t think a lot of teens would think about that.

Leave a Reply

